Guest Posts (International)

Step by Step!

Almost every woman in the world has experienced some kind of discrimination or unfair situation, just for being a woman. Sometimes it makes me feel down…but most of times it makes me very angry. So I am determined to turn this anger into a positive action and write for The SunFlower Post (which I’ll certainly do with passion).

I feel enthusiastic about the idea of participating at The SunFlower Post,  since the very first time Andrea Arzaba told me about it! I am convinced that this project will help open people’s eyes all over the world so that we all will reject daily gender discrimination, which shouldn’t be accepted, let alone be considered normal.

I called my blog “The Penguin”, because it is one of my favourite animals and I especially like how male and female penguins share equally the incubation and feeding duties. And they walk slowly (some would say “clumsily”), step by step, just the way I think we women have to go forward and claim for our rights.

And last, but not least, I found some good news which really made me think! Check them out:

European Gender Drawing Competition 2011  (english)

The European Commission runs this great initiative to make children aware of the gender equality. The competition is open until the 20th of May

Non-sexist tales written by children get published  (spanish)

Women’s association “Amatista” has launched, with help of some local institutions, this project. Participants wrote non-sexist tales, which were afterwards published and distributed!


Introductory post of our Spanish author: Mamen


Pictures: (1) March of the penguins at cppiedradearte.centros.educa.jcyl.es and (2) Author’s personal archive

5 thoughts on “Step by Step!

  1. Pingback: 9th and 10th Week! « The SunFlower Post

Leave a comment